Criminology: Introduction

Criminology is a behavioural science that studies crime and criminal justice and tends to also involve legal, psychological and sociological perspectives. There are many different paths for doing criminology research depending on what topic you are examining.

Background Research:
Helpful ideas include reading newspaper articles and using encyclopedias such as "Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice" by Sanford H. Kadish (HV6017. E52) to help gain a general understanding of the topic before starting your research. Given how interdisciplinary the field of criminology is, your best bet for starting research is to search broadly using our interdisciplinary databases.
Other Helpful Subject Guides:
 
Law and Society - Data and Statistics - Sociology - Psychology

Resources: Primary

Resource Description
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Covers journal articles, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. View Full Description
NCJRS Abstracts Database U.S. database with summaries of articles, books and other materials about crime and corrections. View Full Description
Nexis Uni Full-text documents for international news, business, legal research, and key people in the news. View Full Description

Resources: Secondary

Resource Description
APA PsycInfo A comprehensive database for the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. View Full Description
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America Contains citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents. View Full Description
Child Welfare Information Gateway Links to information and publications for the well-being of children and families. View Full Description
PAIS Index International index to various types of publications on public/social policy and social sciences. Includes PAIS Archive. View Full Description
Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. View Full Description
Sociological Abstracts Comprehensive, international coverage of journal articles, books, papers, etc. in sociology and related disciplines. View Full Description