Law and Society: Introduction Expand All + Collapse All - This page provides links to resources to help new users find materials in Laurier Library, including video tutorials, links to other relevant subject guides, introductions to the Canadian legal system, and a list of subject-specific databases. A list of law & society-related course guides are at the bottom of the page. Getting Started with Omni, Laurier Library's Academic Research Tool5 min VideoOmni Help Page If you want personalized help, contact your Subject Librarian. Other helpful subject guides:CriminologyPolicing & Public SafetyData and StatisticsGovernment InformationInterdisciplinary DatabasesAre you in the joint Laurier and Sussex program? Have a look at the University of Sussex Library subject guide on Law. Understanding The Canadian Legal SystemThe Courts of Canada - Provides a highly detailed listing of the Courts of Canada and the acronyms used to describe themCanadian Department of Justice - A great start to learn about Canada’s system of justiceCanada Guide - This website offers an easy to read guide on the Canadian legal systemHow Government Works - This website offers an easy to read guide on how the Canadian government works Resources: Main Lexis Advance Quicklaw Canadian court decisions and legal commentary. More Info Nexis Uni Full-text documents for international news, business, legal research, and key people in the news. More Info Encyclopedia of law and higher education Full-text reference articles covering topics on law and higher education. More Info Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives Covers important knowledge about law and society from an interdisciplinary perspective. More Info Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Covers journal articles, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. More Info Legal Information @ EBSCOhost Selected EBSCOhost databases for legal information. More Info Legal Information @ ProQuest Selected ProQuest databases for legal information. More Info Encyclopedia of Human Rights Human rights theory, practice, law and history. Online version of five-volume print edition. More Info CPI.Q Index for Canadian academic journals and popular magazines More Info Factiva A full-text resource with news, business information and journal articles drawn from almost 9000 worldwide sources, including Globe and Mail, Toronto Star and the KW Record. More Info LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info Resources: Also Useful Child Welfare Information Gateway Links to information and publications for the well-being of children and families. More Info CQ Researcher Reports on political and social issues. More Info NCJRS Virtual Library U.S. database with summaries of articles, books and other materials about crime and corrections. More Info CANSIM @ CHASS Canadian socio-economic statistical data. For advanced users. More Info Google Scholar Searches for articles and web resources from academic publishers and universities. More Info odesi Repository of socio-economic survey, census, and polling data from Statistics Canada, Ipsos Reid, Gallup, etc. More Info Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info CANSIM @ Statistics Canada Canadian socio-economic statistical data. More Info Very Short Introductions Collection of introductory books on a variety of topics including arts, humanities, law, health, science, and social sciences. More Info Canada Commons Collection of Canadian books and public documents. More Info I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal Index to articles, books, and other documents related to indigenous peoples of Canada and North America. More Info FPIC.INFO Resources FPIC (Free Prior and Informed Consent) is an index and full-text database for resources about free prior and informed consent in Indigenous self-determination in land resource decision making More Info Truth, Reconciliation & Colonialism Video playlist on the the effects of colonialism in Canada. More Info HathiTrust Digital Library Growing collection of digitized texts from a consortium of American research universities. More Info Course Guides Course Number Sort descending Course Title LY 201 The Canadian Legal System I - Grey Literature LY100-BR Introduction to Legal Research
Nexis Uni Full-text documents for international news, business, legal research, and key people in the news. More Info
Nexis Uni Full-text documents for international news, business, legal research, and key people in the news. More Info
Encyclopedia of law and higher education Full-text reference articles covering topics on law and higher education. More Info
Encyclopedia of law and higher education Full-text reference articles covering topics on law and higher education. More Info
Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives Covers important knowledge about law and society from an interdisciplinary perspective. More Info
Encyclopedia of Law & Society: American and Global Perspectives Covers important knowledge about law and society from an interdisciplinary perspective. More Info
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Covers journal articles, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. More Info
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Covers journal articles, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. More Info
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Human rights theory, practice, law and history. Online version of five-volume print edition. More Info
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Human rights theory, practice, law and history. Online version of five-volume print edition. More Info
Factiva A full-text resource with news, business information and journal articles drawn from almost 9000 worldwide sources, including Globe and Mail, Toronto Star and the KW Record. More Info
Factiva A full-text resource with news, business information and journal articles drawn from almost 9000 worldwide sources, including Globe and Mail, Toronto Star and the KW Record. More Info
LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info
LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info
Child Welfare Information Gateway Links to information and publications for the well-being of children and families. More Info
Child Welfare Information Gateway Links to information and publications for the well-being of children and families. More Info
NCJRS Virtual Library U.S. database with summaries of articles, books and other materials about crime and corrections. More Info
NCJRS Virtual Library U.S. database with summaries of articles, books and other materials about crime and corrections. More Info
Google Scholar Searches for articles and web resources from academic publishers and universities. More Info
Google Scholar Searches for articles and web resources from academic publishers and universities. More Info
odesi Repository of socio-economic survey, census, and polling data from Statistics Canada, Ipsos Reid, Gallup, etc. More Info
odesi Repository of socio-economic survey, census, and polling data from Statistics Canada, Ipsos Reid, Gallup, etc. More Info
Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info
Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info
Very Short Introductions Collection of introductory books on a variety of topics including arts, humanities, law, health, science, and social sciences. More Info
Very Short Introductions Collection of introductory books on a variety of topics including arts, humanities, law, health, science, and social sciences. More Info
I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal Index to articles, books, and other documents related to indigenous peoples of Canada and North America. More Info
I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal Index to articles, books, and other documents related to indigenous peoples of Canada and North America. More Info
FPIC.INFO Resources FPIC (Free Prior and Informed Consent) is an index and full-text database for resources about free prior and informed consent in Indigenous self-determination in land resource decision making More Info
FPIC.INFO Resources FPIC (Free Prior and Informed Consent) is an index and full-text database for resources about free prior and informed consent in Indigenous self-determination in land resource decision making More Info
Truth, Reconciliation & Colonialism Video playlist on the the effects of colonialism in Canada. More Info
Truth, Reconciliation & Colonialism Video playlist on the the effects of colonialism in Canada. More Info
HathiTrust Digital Library Growing collection of digitized texts from a consortium of American research universities. More Info
HathiTrust Digital Library Growing collection of digitized texts from a consortium of American research universities. More Info