Law and Society: Websites

This page contains links to law-related websites from Canada, Ontario, and around the world. It also contains links for early common law, justice statistics and human rights.

Canada

(also see Government Information)

National

• Justice Laws This website provides access to federal Acts and regulations in both official languages, both language versions being equally authoritative.
• Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
• Charterpedia (legal information about the Canadian Charter)
• LEGISInfo (current bills before Parliament)
• Canada Gazette The Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada. Learn about new statutes, new and proposed regulations, administrative board decisions and public notices.
• Library of Parliament
• Canada's Court System
• Supreme Court of Canada
• Supreme Court of Canada - Decisions and Resources
• Access to Justice Canada
• Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) (federal and provincial law and legislation)
• Canadian Justice System (how the legal system works)
• Department of Justice Canada
• Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada
• Federal Court of Appeal
• Tax Court of Canada
• Canadian Administrative Tribunals - Topical List - The Great Library
• Office of the Chief Military Judge
• Royal Canadian Mounted Police
• Public Safety Canada (includes policing and crime prevention)
• Correctional Service of Canada
• Research at Correctional Service of Canada
• Office of the Auditor General of Canada
• Federation of Law Societies of Canada
• Canadian Judicial Council
• Canadian Bar Association
• Canadian Law List
• Canadian Online Legal Dictionary

Ontario

• e-Laws (Ontario laws and statutes)
• Ontario Legislative Assembly (current bills)
• Ontario Gazette The official publication for legislative decisions, proclamations of new statutes, all regulations made under Ontario statutes, and notices that must be made public.
• Legislative Library of the Government of Ontario
• Ontario Courts
• Ontario Court Forms
• Ontario Court Dates
• Ontario Court Locations
• Ontario Tribunals
• Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General
• Ontario Provincial Police
• Ontario Correctional Services
• Office of the Auditor General of Ontario
• Law Society of Ontario
• Federation of Ontario Law Associations
• Legal Information and Research Network

International

• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - List of Countries
• United Nations list of International Law, Courts and Tribunals
• United Nations and the Rule of Law
• United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
• United Nations
• INTERPOL
• World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems
• British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)
• Legal Information Institute (LII) (U.S.)
• Congress.gov (U.S. legislation)
• Findlaw: Internet Legal Resources (U.S.)
• Department of Justice - Office of Justice Programs (U.S.)
• GlobaLex is an electronic publication from the NYU School of Law dedicated to international and foreign law research
• EcoLex - international environmental law
• The Law Engine (U.S.) a single-page directory to US legal and news sites
• Open Jurist is a free resource that includes United States Code and opinions of U.S. Supreme Court and of lower federal courts
• PACER - Public Access to Court Electronic Records is a public access service for United States case and docket information from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts
• Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA)
• North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) 
• International Criminal Court 

Early Common Law Resources

• British North American Legislative Database, 1758-1867
• The Old Bailey Online
• Criminal Court Cases: Old Bailey (Central Criminal Court) - The National Archives (UK)
• Locating London's Past (interactive map with justice data available)

Statistics

(also see Data & Statistics)

• Justice Research and Data (Canada)
• Crime and Justice (Canada)
• Juristat (Canada) Provides in-depth analysis and detailed statistics on a variety of topics and issues related to justice and public safety.
• U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
• UNODC Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics
• World Justice Project - Rule of Law Index

Human Rights

• Canadian Human Rights Commission
• Ontario Human Rights Commission
• United Nations - Protect Human Rights
• United Nations - Human Rights Resolutions Portal
• United Nations - Human Rights - Office of the High Commissioner
• Council of Europe - Human Rights
• Human Rights Watch

Got a URL for an old website that's not there anymore? Try entering the URL in the Internet Archive's WayBack Machine to see if an earlier version of the page has been saved.