Law and Society: Journals & Databases

This page covers where to find legal journal and database information in Laurier Library's collection, and in Open Access on the internet. It includes a select list of law journals available through the library.

Was this guide helpful? Please leave quick, anonymous feedback for this guide by clicking on this link. 

To report a broken link, an error, or a page malfunction please click the Page Feedback link at the bottom of the page.

Search Databases or Individual Journals to Find Articles

Recommended Databases & Resources

Below is a list that contains some of the individual Canadian law journals to which we subscribe. To find additional Canadian journals in Omni, try this search: Electronic Journals for Law. You can also search Omni for Canadian or international journals by subject or keyword. Some journals may also be available in print format. 

A list of Canadian law journals can also be found with other secondary and commentary works on CanLII.

Visit the Legal Scholarship Network or the Digital Commons Network - The Law Commons for even more papers and articles from around the globe.

Use the Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications.

To search for databases by subject, enter a search term on the library's Resources page. Areas of interest besides "Law" and "Legal" may include "Justice" or "Crim" (Crime/Criminology) or "Psychology" or "Sociology."

Open Access Materials

"Open access is a publishing model for scholarly communication that makes research information available to readers at no cost, as opposed to the traditional subscription model in which readers have access to scholarly information by paying a subscription (usually via libraries)." (What is Open Access?)

Directory of Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Books

Open DOAR

ROARMAP

PLOS

JSTOR Open Access Journals

Found a journal online, but you're not quite certain about it? Check it against the Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory.