History: Primary Sources Expand All + Collapse All - A primary source is a document produced within a particular historical context. Examples include manuscripts, memoirs, letters, diaries, speeches, official government records, and newspaper reports. The document may have published close to the time it was written, at a later time, or it may not be published at all, as is the case for many items in archival and manuscript collections.Use subject headings for primary sources when searching Omni.Original documents in the Laurier Archives and Special CollectionsThe Archives and Special Collections Department contains original collections of primary material that are available for research. For online finding aids, or for more information, please contact the Archives.Video Tutorial: How to find primary sources Electronic Collections of Primary Resources Filter Title, description Available - Any -YesNo American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection US periodicals from the 1600s, 1700s and 1800s, on a wide variety of topics. More Info Archive Explorer Search tool for all Adam Matthew databases. More Info Atla Historical Monographs Collection Monographs from 13th century to early 1900s on religious language, development, and relationships with other issues. More Info Black Thought and Culture Full text non-fiction writings by American black leaders covering 250 years of history. More Info British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries Full-text primary source material. More Info British Library Newspapers All issues from 47 national, regional and local newspapers, from the British Library holdings. More Info Canadiana Digitized texts published between the first European settlement of Canada and the early twentieth century. More Info Center for Research Libraries: Digital Collections Primary source material, in digital format or available for request through Interlibrary Loan. More Info Champlain Society Digital Collection Online publications of the Champlain Society. More Info China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 Full-text papers, plus maps, paintings, photographs and archival materials. More Info Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 Complete archive of the British newspaper content, including the Atlantic Editions. More Info Defining Gender Full-text manuscripts and printed works, plus illustrations. More Info Digital National Security Archive Full-text U.S. policy documents. More Info Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Full-text letters, diaries and memoirs. More Info Early English Books Online Full text, in facsimile, of more than 125,000 literary and historical texts as listed in the English Short Title Catalogue. More Info East India Company Primary source documents on British trade and rule in India, 1595-1947. More Info Eighteenth Century Journals Rare, full-text journals on a wide range of topics. More Info Empire Online Images of original manuscripts and printed materials produced between 1492 and 1962. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceana and South Asia. More Info Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Primary sources concerning the history of the film and entertainment industries. More Info Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters Primary source documents on European and colonial frontier regions, 1650-1920. More Info Hansard Online Full text of UK members’ debates, 1803 to the present. Includes both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. More Info Historical Topographic Map Digitization Project: Full Collection Maps of Ontario locations from early to mid-20th century. More Info History Commons Archive of magazine, newspaper and book content from the 1600s onwards. More Info History of Feminism Primary and secondary source material on feminism in the 19th century. More Info Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America Manuscripts, artwork and rare print material on native North American history and European settlement. More Info Indigenous Peoples of North America Collection of primary source documents on the indigenous peoples of North America. More Info LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Collection of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. More Info Mass Observation Online Papers from the archive of a pioneering British social research organization. More Info Medical Services and Warfare Hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts of the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. More Info Medieval Family Life Medieval documents on the topics of family, business, the law, violence, etc. More Info Medieval Travel Writing Important manuscripts by European travellers. More Info Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Scans of British newspapers published from 1800 to 1900. More Info North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Full-text personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada. More Info North American Indian Thought and Culture Full-text biographies, autobiographies, diaries, letters, personal narratives and speeches. More Info North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 Thousands of pages of diaries and letters from hundreds of women in North America. More Info Oral History Online Full-text oral histories in English, including an index to freely available histories on the Web. More Info Our Ontario: Newspapers Over 200 years of community newspapers from across Ontario. More Info Past Masters Full-text authoritative works by seminal figures in the Humanities. More Info Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 Primary source material concerning social, political and cultural changes from 1950-1975. More Info ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Calgary Herald. More Info ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Montreal Gazette. More Info ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Toronto Star. More Info Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice Includes manuscripts, books, pamphlets, maps and images. More Info The First World War Letters, diaries, posters and other primary documents related to World War One. More Info The Times Digital Archive Searchable full-text images of every page of the London Times newspaper. More Info U.K. Parliamentary Papers Digitally scanned Sessional Papers & supplementary material from Great Britain's House of Commons. (Some House of Lords papers, if presented to the House of Commons.) More Info Vogue Archive Complete archive of Vogue magazine. More Info Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Full-text documents, plus scholarly essays, book reviews, commentaries and bibliographies. More Info Women and Transnational Networks Primary source collection focusing on the 19th century, gender, and class through a transnational perspective. More Info
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection US periodicals from the 1600s, 1700s and 1800s, on a wide variety of topics. More Info
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection US periodicals from the 1600s, 1700s and 1800s, on a wide variety of topics. More Info
Atla Historical Monographs Collection Monographs from 13th century to early 1900s on religious language, development, and relationships with other issues. More Info
Atla Historical Monographs Collection Monographs from 13th century to early 1900s on religious language, development, and relationships with other issues. More Info
Black Thought and Culture Full text non-fiction writings by American black leaders covering 250 years of history. More Info
Black Thought and Culture Full text non-fiction writings by American black leaders covering 250 years of history. More Info
British Library Newspapers All issues from 47 national, regional and local newspapers, from the British Library holdings. More Info
British Library Newspapers All issues from 47 national, regional and local newspapers, from the British Library holdings. More Info
Canadiana Digitized texts published between the first European settlement of Canada and the early twentieth century. More Info
Canadiana Digitized texts published between the first European settlement of Canada and the early twentieth century. More Info
Center for Research Libraries: Digital Collections Primary source material, in digital format or available for request through Interlibrary Loan. More Info
Center for Research Libraries: Digital Collections Primary source material, in digital format or available for request through Interlibrary Loan. More Info
China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 Full-text papers, plus maps, paintings, photographs and archival materials. More Info
China: Trade, Politics & Culture 1793-1980 Full-text papers, plus maps, paintings, photographs and archival materials. More Info
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 Complete archive of the British newspaper content, including the Atlantic Editions. More Info
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 Complete archive of the British newspaper content, including the Atlantic Editions. More Info
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Full-text letters, diaries and memoirs. More Info
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Full-text letters, diaries and memoirs. More Info
Early English Books Online Full text, in facsimile, of more than 125,000 literary and historical texts as listed in the English Short Title Catalogue. More Info
Early English Books Online Full text, in facsimile, of more than 125,000 literary and historical texts as listed in the English Short Title Catalogue. More Info
Empire Online Images of original manuscripts and printed materials produced between 1492 and 1962. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceana and South Asia. More Info
Empire Online Images of original manuscripts and printed materials produced between 1492 and 1962. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceana and South Asia. More Info
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Primary sources concerning the history of the film and entertainment industries. More Info
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Primary sources concerning the history of the film and entertainment industries. More Info
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters Primary source documents on European and colonial frontier regions, 1650-1920. More Info
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters Primary source documents on European and colonial frontier regions, 1650-1920. More Info
Hansard Online Full text of UK members’ debates, 1803 to the present. Includes both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. More Info
Hansard Online Full text of UK members’ debates, 1803 to the present. Includes both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. More Info
Historical Topographic Map Digitization Project: Full Collection Maps of Ontario locations from early to mid-20th century. More Info
Historical Topographic Map Digitization Project: Full Collection Maps of Ontario locations from early to mid-20th century. More Info
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America Manuscripts, artwork and rare print material on native North American history and European settlement. More Info
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America Manuscripts, artwork and rare print material on native North American history and European settlement. More Info
Indigenous Peoples of North America Collection of primary source documents on the indigenous peoples of North America. More Info
Indigenous Peoples of North America Collection of primary source documents on the indigenous peoples of North America. More Info
LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info
LLMC Digital Open Access An international collection of key historic legal texts and executive, legislative and judicial government documents. More Info
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Collection of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. More Info
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries Collection of personal writings by American women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. More Info
Mass Observation Online Papers from the archive of a pioneering British social research organization. More Info
Mass Observation Online Papers from the archive of a pioneering British social research organization. More Info
Medical Services and Warfare Hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts of the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. More Info
Medical Services and Warfare Hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts of the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. More Info
Medieval Family Life Medieval documents on the topics of family, business, the law, violence, etc. More Info
Medieval Family Life Medieval documents on the topics of family, business, the law, violence, etc. More Info
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Full-text personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada. More Info
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Full-text personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada. More Info
North American Indian Thought and Culture Full-text biographies, autobiographies, diaries, letters, personal narratives and speeches. More Info
North American Indian Thought and Culture Full-text biographies, autobiographies, diaries, letters, personal narratives and speeches. More Info
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 Thousands of pages of diaries and letters from hundreds of women in North America. More Info
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 Thousands of pages of diaries and letters from hundreds of women in North America. More Info
Oral History Online Full-text oral histories in English, including an index to freely available histories on the Web. More Info
Oral History Online Full-text oral histories in English, including an index to freely available histories on the Web. More Info
Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info
Periodicals Archive Online Full-text articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences. More Info
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 Primary source material concerning social, political and cultural changes from 1950-1975. More Info
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 Primary source material concerning social, political and cultural changes from 1950-1975. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Calgary Herald. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Calgary Herald Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Calgary Herald. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Montreal Gazette. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Montreal Gazette. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Toronto Star. More Info
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star Searchable full-page archive of the newspaper, Toronto Star. More Info
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice Includes manuscripts, books, pamphlets, maps and images. More Info
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice Includes manuscripts, books, pamphlets, maps and images. More Info
The First World War Letters, diaries, posters and other primary documents related to World War One. More Info
The First World War Letters, diaries, posters and other primary documents related to World War One. More Info
The Times Digital Archive Searchable full-text images of every page of the London Times newspaper. More Info
The Times Digital Archive Searchable full-text images of every page of the London Times newspaper. More Info
U.K. Parliamentary Papers Digitally scanned Sessional Papers & supplementary material from Great Britain's House of Commons. (Some House of Lords papers, if presented to the House of Commons.) More Info
U.K. Parliamentary Papers Digitally scanned Sessional Papers & supplementary material from Great Britain's House of Commons. (Some House of Lords papers, if presented to the House of Commons.) More Info
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Full-text documents, plus scholarly essays, book reviews, commentaries and bibliographies. More Info
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Full-text documents, plus scholarly essays, book reviews, commentaries and bibliographies. More Info
Women and Transnational Networks Primary source collection focusing on the 19th century, gender, and class through a transnational perspective. More Info
Women and Transnational Networks Primary source collection focusing on the 19th century, gender, and class through a transnational perspective. More Info