Music: Scores

• Bassoon
• Clarinet
• Double Bass
• Euphonium
• Flute
• Guitar
• Horn
• Oboe
• Organ
• Percussion
• Piano
• Saxophone
• Trombone
• Trumpet
• Tuba
• Viola
• Violin
• Violoncello
• Voice

Locate a known piece of music by keyword

In Omni, type your keywords in the search box using a combination of the following:

• Use the plural of the musical genre, e.g., concertos, sonatas.
• Include the name of the instrument, e.g., oboe, or oboes
• Include the composer's surname to narrow results, e.g., Schumann; possibly add distinctive first name, e.g, Clara
• Include a distinctive word, e.g. title word, opus number or thematic catalogue number (consult Grove Music Online (part of Oxford Music Online to determine this info)
• Additional tips:
  • If your result list includes many non-score items, on the left side of results under Resource Type, choose "scores"
  • Enclose phrases in "double quotation marks"
•  
  • Scores may be part of a collected edition (consult Grove Music Online (part of Oxford Music Online to identify the volume you need)

Master list of scores at Laurier

Scores are stored in many locations beyond the fourth floor of the Library. Below is a spreadsheet where you can browse all scores owned by the Library. Browse the list here, or use the Google doc feature for File/Download to save and open the file in Excel.

• The Music Ensemble Collection (4th floor) has limited hours, please contact libraryhelp@wlu.ca for help using this collection
• The collection is comprised of orchestral, choral and chamber scores plus individual parts
• Find items in the Ensemble collection in Omni. From the results page, at left
  • click on "Scores" under "Resource Types"
  • click on "Music Ensemble-Request hold or contact Ensemble Office" under "Laurier Location" 

Special note

• For faculty requests, allow at least two weeks for processing
• Ensemble materials may be rented by outside users with permission of the Faculty of Music

• Classical Scores Library
  • Scores and manuscripts from the Renaissance to the 21st century.
• International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
  • Large and growing collection of high-quality public domain scores.
• Art Song Central
  • Archive of standard classical and traditional repertoire. Includes IPA transcriptions for the German, French, Italian and Latin songs.
• Choral Public Domain Library
  • Large collection of public domain choral music. Includes texts and translations.
• Neue Mozart-Ausgabe
  • Complete works of Mozart in digitized format. Includes critical commentaries.
• The Opera Collection
  • A digitized portion of Western's rare manuscripts and printed first editions of operas and libretti composed between 1597 and 1900. More information.
• Sheet Music from Canada's Past
  • Hundreds of pieces of music chosen from the historical collection of the National Library of Canada. To find full-image scores, browse for "printed music."
• Sheet Music Consortium
  • Brings together sheet music collections from various libraries and archives. Below the search box, toggle "Digitized Sheetmusic."
• Other Music Score Websites (via IMSLP)
  • Comprehensive list of links.