Medieval Studies: Introduction

Resources: Start Here

Resource Description
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Full-text articles covering the period from the 5th to the 15th century, with a focus on Europe and Christianity. View Full Description

Resources: Primary

Resource Description
Historical Abstracts Index of journal articles, books, etc. on world history (NOT Canada or the U.S.) from 1450 to the present. View Full Description
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Interdisciplinary bibliography of scholarly research on the period from 400 to 1700. View Full Description

Resources: Secondary

Resource Description
Atla Historical Monographs Collection Monographs from 13th century to early 1900s on religious language, development, and relationships with other issues. View Full Description
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Index with some full text for articles and books on religion and theology. View Full Description
Early English Books Online Full text, in facsimile, of more than 125,000 literary and historical texts as listed in the English Short Title Catalogue. View Full Description
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) Interdisciplinary database with articles from more than 1200 English-language periodicals. View Full Description
JSTOR Current and back issues of journals in arts and sciences. View Full Description
Literature Online Full text of more than 355,000 works in English, American and Canadian literature. View Full Description
Medieval Family Life Medieval documents on the topics of family, business, the law, violence, etc. View Full Description
Medieval Studies @ EBSCOhost Selected EBSCOhost databases for Medieval Studies. View Full Description
Medieval Travel Writing Important manuscripts by European travellers. View Full Description
OED : Oxford English Dictionary The full text of the 20-volume 2nd edition (1989) plus regular updates. View Full Description