Skip to main content

Government Information: Statistics

Canada

 

  • Omni  Use Advanced Search to find government documents from statistical agencies in print, microfiche and electronic format; for Statistics Canada publications, include "Statistics Canada" as an "Author/Creator".

 

 

Statistics Canada: popular resources on their website

     

    • The Daily: released Mondays to Fridays at 8:30am, this site provides announcements of new statistics and data, publications, surveys, scholars and initiatives.

     

    • Analysis: statistical tables, articles, journals, reports and other publications.

     

     

     

     

     

      Statistics Canada: publications

       

       

       

      Government data (results from official Canadian government numerical surveys) can be found through these sites:

       

      • <odesi> "A web-based data exploration, extraction, and analysis tool...(that) lets you search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, and supports basic tabulation and analysis online....Statistics Canada‘s public-use survey data forms the core of <odesi>’s social survey data holdings,...(and) key polling data collections include the Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA), Canadian Gallup, and Ipsos Reid."

       

      • Data as available from Statistics Canada

       

      • CANSIM @ CHASS  Access Statistics Canada's CANSIM time series data through the Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (University of Toronto)'s user interface.

       

      • Open Data Open access Canadian federal data.

       

       

       

      United States

       

      • Omni  Use Advanced Search to find government documents from statistical agencies in print, microfiche and electronic format; for publications from American government agencies, include "United States" as an "Author/Creator".

       

       

       

       

      • Data.gov "The U.S. Government's open data. Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more."

       

       

      United Kingdom

       

       

       

       

      International

      ​​

      • Omni  Use Advanced Search to find government documents from statistical agencies in print, microfiche and electronic format; for publications from foreign countries' government agencies or from international government organizations, include the name of the country or the organization as an "Author/Creator".

       

       

      Popular international statistical resources:

       

      United Nations

      • UNData  Large, comprehensive statistical database covering all countries of the world. Pulls together statistics from all the major UN sources.
      • United Nations Statistics (Department of Economics and Social Affairs, ECOSOC)  Includes demographics, social indicators, vital statistics, disability and national accounts.  Explore these links in the drop-down menus:

       

      OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

      • OECD.stat
      • OECD iLibrary  Access to books, journals, reports, papers and other resources with statistical information, from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

       

      World Bank

       

      European Union

      • eurostat  From the European Commission

       

      World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)

      Very basic statistical information on select countries of the world, updated regularly.

       

       

       

      Statistics Canada web resources

       

      Web Tables; Census ResultsCommunity Profiles
      Quick, freely available statistical tables.

      The following three are for use by Laurier faculty, students, and staff for teaching and research purposes only:

      E-STAT
      For time-series datan and Census results. Updated once a year.
      CANSIM
      Time-series data and Census results. Updated daily if data available
      TriUniversity Data Resources (TDR)

      United States

      TRELLIS: Library Catalogue
      Find statistics in print, microfiche and from selected Web resources.

      International

      TRELLIS: Library Catalogue
      Fine statistics in print, microfiche and from selected Web resources. Use the Advanced Search function, with statistic? (include the question mark) as one of the keywords.
      OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
      Free statisitics from official government agencies, arranged by country, region or topic.

      Statistical databases

      UNData
      Large, comprehensive statistical database covering all countries of the world. Pulls together statistics from all the major UN sources.
      United Nations Statistical Databases
      Includes demographics, social indicators, vital statistics, disability and national accounts.
      OECD iLibrary
      Access to books, journals, reports, papers and other resources from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
      World Development Indicators
      Development data from more than 200 countries.
      World Factbook
      Information on countries of the world prepared by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.