Skip to main content

Education: Reference & Quick Information - Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Dictionaries

 

Don't just "Wikipedia or Google it"!!  The Laurier Library provides access to 1,000s of reputable, scholarly - and most importantly, accurate - reference works, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guidebooks, and manuals, both online and in print on the shelves.

 

Search our Omni collection called "Education Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Dictionaries"; you can also:

 

  • Browse the shelves of the 4th Floor Education¬†Professional¬†&¬†Curriculum¬†Collection¬†‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč‚Äč(i.e. books for teachers¬†about pedagogical¬†theories &/or classroom activities);

    • the book spines'¬†call number labels start with "EDUPROF" or "EDUC".¬†

 

  • Browse the shelves of the¬†general¬†Reference & Quick Ref Collections on the Main Floor of the Laurier Library and the Laurier books in the Reference¬†Collection at the Brantford Public Library; these collections hold books such as citation style guides,¬†general dictionaries and encyclopedias.

 

  • Browse the Library's extended collection of books about all aspects of Education (6th Floor, call numbers "L" through to¬†"LT"

 

N.B.  USE Omni (Advanced) IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO FIND BOOKS MORE PRECISELY ON A TOPIC; try a search such as this: 

 

  • On the 1st line, copy & paste (with capital "OR"s and asterixes):¬†encyclop* OR dictionar* OR handbook* OR guidebook* OR manual*¬†& then:
    • choose "Subject" from the drop-down menu on the left-hand side of the text box AND¬†choose "Books & eBooks"¬†under "Resource Type"¬†from the drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the text box;

 

  • on the 2nd line, type in educat*¬†&¬†choose "Subject" from the drop-down menu on the left-hand side of the text box;¬†run the search & explore the results;

 

  • if desired, on the 3rd line, add keywords (with capital "OR"s in between terms) if you have a subject in mind, i.e. math* OR geometr* OR algebra*.

 

eBook collections

There may be thousands more eBooks in the following electronic book portals that have not yet been entered into Omni. The portals also have customized searching features.  All books should eventually appear in Omni, but many have not yet been added that can be found through these individual collections. 

Some eBook Collections of interest to Education might be (but are not limited to):