Human Rights: Books & eBooks
This page contains links to suggested subject-specific titles available through Omni, which researchers may want to include in their search.
Encyclopedias & Indexes
Start here. Encyclopedias, indexes, and directories, as well as news aggregators, newspaper articles and internet resources can help you get familiar with your topic before you plunge into full research mode.
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Abolition and Antislavery : A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
The Civil Rights Movement: A Reference Guide
Race and Racism in the United States : An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
The SAGE encyclopedia of World Poverty
Human Rights and the Environment : Legality, Indivisibility, Dignity and Geography
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
Sexual Harassment and Misconduct : An Encyclopedia
The Sage Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies
Newest Books and eBooks in Omni
This link will take you to a list of relevant book titles added to the library collection since 2025. You can use the modifiers to narrow your focus, or add keywords to change the search.
Researchers should also try browsing the book stacks! Leadership materials are located in the collection under various call numbers, depending on the context: try browsing around JC571-JC628 (political science) or K3236-K3268.5 (law). Go to the library and browse those shelves for additional book suggestions, or try Omni's Virtual Browse feature for physical books housed at Laurier.
You can also search eBook resources directly through databases:
Laurier Library's Full eBook Collection
Subject Headings & Keywords
Try the following terms when searching Omni or a database:
Human rights; democratic rights; digital rights; freedom of expression/opinion; freedom of the press; freedom of assembly/association; environmental rights; educational rights; cultural rights; right to health; health rights; right to housing; right to food/water; children's rights; youth rights; freedom of religion; Indigenous rights; gender rights; gender equality; women's rights; minority rights; disabled rights; privacy; surveillance; protest; healthy ecosystems; sanitation; displaced peoples; homelessness; refugees; migrants; austerity; poverty; food security; hunger; discrimination; ageism; elder abuse; disability; impairment; racism; intolerance; violence; rule of law; hate speech; slavery; trafficking; terrorism
Can't find the book you're looking for in Omni or our databases? You can make a request to borrow items from other library systems. Learn more about requesting materials from other libraries.