Human Rights: Websites

Canadian Human Rights Commission - The Canadian Human Rights Commission is Canada's national human rights institution.

Ontario Human Rights Commission - The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) was established as an arm’s length agency of government in 1961 to prevent discrimination and to promote and advance human rights in Ontario.

International Human Rights - Government of Canada - Learn how Canada promotes and protects human rights and reflects Canadian values on the international stage.

Council of Europe - Human Rights - Mission: To promote democracy, human rights and the rule of law across Europe and beyond.

Human Rights Watch - Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world.

Human Rights Internet - Search human rights web sites by content, issues, keywords, geographical focus. Also includes Human Rights Mailing Lists.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - Reports submitted by the U.S. Dept. of State to the U.S. Congress

INCORE (Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity) - Provides annotated lists of resources relating to human rights, conflict, and ethnicity for 42 countries. This includes news, email lists and newsgroups, articles and documents, maps, NGOs, and other related resources. Over two hundred full-text peace agreements can also be accessed via an interactive map.

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library - Very comprehensive and well-designed site. Use graphical browser.

Project Diana - Project Diana is a comprehensive and authoritative online human rights database.

Physicians for Human Rights - For more than 35 years, Physicians for Human Rights (PHR) has used science and the uniquely credible voices of medical professionals to document and call attention to severe human rights violations around the world.

Electronic Frontier Foundation - The Electronic Frontier Foundation is the leading nonprofit organization defending civil liberties in the digital world.

Amnesty International - Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 10 million people who are committed to creating a future where human rights are enjoyed by everyone.

Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women - Since 1976, CRIAW-ICREF has been researching and documenting the economic and social situation of women in Canada.

The National Council of Women of Canada - Founded in 1893 by Lady Ishbel Aberdeen, the NCWC has been at the forefront of advocacy for women's rights and social issues for over a century.

Association for Women's Rights in Development - For 40 years, AWID has been a part of an incredible ecosystem of feminist movements working to achieve gender justice and women’s human rights worldwide.

Development Alternatives with Women for a New Era - DAWN is a network of feminist scholars, researchers and activists from the economic South working for economic and gender justice and sustainable and democratic development.

Global Alliance for Women's Health - The Global Alliance for Women's Health is a trusted, multi-stakeholder platform dedicated to identifying and closing the women's health gap.

International Center for Research on Women - Founded in 1976 in response to concerns that international development interventions were benefiting men and women unequally, ICRW was established to make visible the invisible.

International Council of Women - Ever since its establishment in 1888, the organization has been at the forefront of bringing worldwide attention to the issue of women’s rights and leading the battle against gender based social injustice.

Fòs Feminista - Fòs Feminista is an intersectional feminist organization centered around the sexual and reproductive health and rights of women, girls, and gender-diverse people.

National Organization for Women (US) - NOW is a multi-issue, multi-strategy organization that takes a holistic approach to women’s rights.

Women In Development Europe+ - WIDE+, is a European feminist network of feminist activists and organizations, women’s rights advocates, gender specialists, migrant women associations, as well as other NGOs that promote an intersectional feminism as part of their overall goal of promoting human rights and sustainable development.

Women's Human Rights Resources (University of Toronto, Bora Laskin Law Library) - Articles, documents and links to other web sites on aspects of women's human rights.

Center for World Indigenous Studies - For over 40 years, CWIS has been the leading Indigenous peoples’ think tank ensuring that communities can safeguard their rights and resources.

Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal - The CWRP provides access to up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies.

International Juvenile Justice Observatory - The IJJO was established by the Board of Trustees of Fundación Diagrama in 2003 as an autonomous non-profit organisation within the internal structure of Fundación Diagrama. Its work focuses on addressing the issues faced by children and young people in conflict with the law.

UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights - the Declaration was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly in Paris on 10 December 1948 as a common standard of achievements for all peoples and all nations.

UN Human Rights Office - Home page for the UNHRO.

United Nations - Protect Human Rights

United Nations - Human Rights Resolutions Portal - The Human Rights Resolution Portal provides information on, and access to, all resolutions ever passed by the Human Rights Council, and all resolutions adopted by the General Assembly's Third Committee since 2006.

United Nations - Human Rights - Office of the High Commissioner

General UN Resources

United Nations News - News articles and press releases about the UN.

United Nations Home Page

UN Member States on the Record - Participation records of all UN members.

UN Official Documents System - Database of official UN publications. Contains full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. Click here for an explanation of UN Document Symbols.

United Nations Digital Library - The Dag Hammarskjöld Library creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions. UNDL Help page.

UNDL Research Guides - Guides on various topics to help you find the right documents.

UNBIS Thesaurus - The UNBIS Thesaurus is a multilingual database of the controlled vocabulary used to describe UN documents and other materials in the Library's collection.

UN Data - Statistics from the United Nations.

United Nations and the Rule of Law - Home page for the UN Rule of Law Unit.