Geography and Environmental Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The following are a selection of available reference items. To find more, search Primo for your keywords and include "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias" as a subject term.

A Dictionary of Human Geography / Alasdair Rogers, Noel Castree, and Rob Kitchin (eds.)

  • Oxford University Press, 2013.

Dictionary of Human Geography

  • Provides short, academic surveys of key terms by scholars in the field. 5th ed., 2009.

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation / Chris C. Park and Michael Allaby (eds.)

  • Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2017.

Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering / James R. Pfafflin, Edward N. Ziegler, and Joseph M. Lynch.

Ecology basics / edited by the editors of Salem Press.

Encyclopedia of Coastal Science

  • Scholarly, interdisciplinary treatment of coastal science contributed by experts. Springer, 2005.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

  • Combines major issues, concepts, and problems concerning the interaction between humans and nature. Sage, 2007.

Encyclopedia of Geography

Online, 6-volume set with over 1,200 entries in six major fields in geography written by experts. Sage, 2010.

Encyclopedia of Global Change

  • Full text articles on ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, and more.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography

  • More than 300 entries written by scholars in their respective fields. Sage, 2006.

Encyclopedia of Soil Science

  • Full-text articles covering covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology.

Encyclopedia of World Climatology

  • Authoritative source with full-text articles; covers all the main subfields of climatology, supplies information on climates in major continental areas, and explains the intricacies of climatic processes.

Facts on file dictionary of environmental science / Bruce C. Wyman and L. Harold Stevenson.

New York : Facts on File, 2007. Print location: Waterloo book shelves - TD9 .W95 2007

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • Includes the Environmental Encyclopedia, Geo-data : the world geographical encyclopedia, and more.

Oxford Companion to Global Change

  • Full text articles on the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems. Oxford University Press: 2009.

Oxford Reference: Earth Sciences and Climatology

  • Full-text interdisciplinary scholarly encyclopdias and dictionaries in the field of Environmental Studies.

Sage Knowledge

  • Full-text encyclopedias for all the social sciences. Includes Encyclopedia of GIS, Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Encyclopedia of Environment and Society, Encyclopedia of Human Geography, and more.