Geography and Environmental Studies: Countries

Countries of the World

General Country Information

BBC News World Edition: Country Profiles

Presents country overviews, basic facts, Web links, and details on leaders and media. Includes news stories and audio and video clips from the BBC archives.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) - access through ABI/Inform:

  • Once in the database, click the "Browse" link at the top
  • Select the link to the EIU Finance and Forecast Reports under Country Reports
  • Scroll down and click on the link next to "forecasts"
  • Filter the results by country on the right under "Narrow results by"

Country Insights

Cultural, demographic, and political information on countries. From the Centre for Intercultural Learning, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

Country Information - Export Development Canada

Profiles of foreign countries, as well as information on resources available for each country. From Export Development Canada.

Facts on File Country Profiles

Links directly to country information from Facts on File's World News Digest database.

Human Development Reports

Reports commissioned by the UN to assess long-term well-being in countries around the world

INCORE (Initiative on Conflict Resolution and Ethnicity)

Provides annotated lists of resources relating to human rights, conflict, and ethnicity for 42 countries. This includes news, email lists and newsgroups, articles and documents, maps, NGOs, and other related resources. Over two hundred full-text peace agreements can also be accessed via an interactive map

Mergent Online: Country Profiles

Select your country from the list in the bottom right corner of Mergent's home page.

Oxford Analytica Country Profiles - available through ABI/Inform

  • Once in the database, click the "Browse" link at the top
  • In the Business section, click Country Reports
  • Select the link to the Oxford Analytica Country Profiles
  • Select the tab to Browse by Location, or Browse by Subject

Political Risk Yearbook

Country reports with political and economic information.

Portals to the World

Library of Congress. Includes a wide range electronic information sources on many different countries selected by the Library of Congress. This site is organized by country or area. A range of different subject categories is available for each country. Once this project is finished all nations in the world will be included.

United Nations databases

Statistics and documents from all the major UN sources

World Development Reports, 1985 to present

Ongoing publication on economic development. From the World Bank.

World Factbook

Information on countries of the world prepared by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Statistical Information -- Canada

Canada Year Book

Statistics Canada

Canadian Economic Observer, 2003 -

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada. Some data freely available

Statistical Information -- United States

Bureau of Economic Analysis

United States. Department of Commerce.

Census Bureau Economic Programs

United States. Bureau of the Census.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book

United States. Bureau of the Census.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878 -

United States. Bureau of the Census.

Statistical Information -- Europe

Eurostat

European Union

Trends in Europe and North America

United Nations. Statistical yearbook of the Economic Commission for Europe.

Statistical Information -- International

Europa World Online

Online version of Europa World Yearbook, with statistics and other information on countries around the world.

Human Development Reports

United Nations. 1990 to present

Monthly Bulletin of Statistics

United Nations. Older issues in paper: HC 57 U66. Location: WLU 4th Floor Periodicals and the Annex

National Statistics

United Nations

Penn World Tables

Available via CHASS at the University of Toronto

UNdata

Single portal for searching UN statistical databases. Published by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

World Economic Outlook Reports

International Monetary Fund. Also see HD 82.W67 Location: WLU 6th Floor Book Stacks

Parliamentary Information

Parliaments Online

(ParLine) allows searching by country to find information about that country's electoral process and the people in power.

Parliaments and Literature

(ParLit) is a searchable bibliographic database comprised of references to books and articles about the world's governments.

Rulers

Lists heads of states and heads of government for most countries dating back to the early 19th century. Also lists foreign ministers of many countries, as well as the heads of key international organizations.