Business: Industry research

Industry information

Canada only:

Industry Canada
Includes industry profiles. Enter industry keyword in search box.
Associations Canada
This resource provides a listing of Canadian Associations. Associations may provide detailed information on their respective industry. N.B. Be sure to uncheck all databases, with the exception of Associations Canada.

Canada, U.S. and international:

IBISWorld
Contains Canadian, US and Chinese Industry Reports, iExpert Summaries, and Business Environment Profiles. Industry market research reports contain such information as trends, statistics & analysis on market size, market share of major companies, industry growth rates, and key external forces affecting supply and demand.
ProQuest One Business
Enter industry name or keywords into the search box in the top field, then select "Industry Report" under "Document type", and click "Search". Alternatively, click "Industry Reports" under "Featured Reports" on the left panel, then enter industry name or keywords in the top field before clicking Search.
Marketline
Provides industry reports and analysis including Porter's Five Forces analysis. Enter in keywords into the search box in the middle and select "Industry Profiles" from drop-down menu in the right box.
S&P NetAdvantage
Includes Industry Surveys. Click on the "Markets" tab at the top of the screen and select your industry under the Industries subheading or click on "Industry Surveys" under the Market Research subheading.
Passport GMID
Offers industry/market analysis and forecasting. Select an industry from drop-down "Industries" menu or enter keyword in search box.

Industrial classification codes

Many government websites, and some databases, organize business information using an industry classification system, with a specific code for each industry. You may find it helpful to look up the code for your industry as part of your research.

Note: If you are researching a very specific or very new industry, it may not be included in these industry classification systems.

The two most common industry classification systems are NAICS and SIC. Both are hierarchical, organized by broad industry categories, each divided into more specific industries.

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)
Developed in 1997, by Canada, the United States and Mexico. Industry codes are from 2-6 digits long.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
An older industry classification system. NAICS was intended to replace SIC, however, some resources still use SIC codes to classify information.

Industry financials and ratios

Canada only:

CFMRC/TSX Database Annual Update
Contains Toronto Stock Exchange historical data, including monthly stock data since 1950 and daily data since 1975, daily and monthly index data, and interest and foreign exchange rates. Additional information relating to earnings, betas, and volume is also included. Access via the CHASS platform maintained by the University of Toronto. On CHASS, click the link under "Latest Edition" to start.
Financial Performance Data
Presents financial data for small and medium-sized businesses (revenues ranges of $30 thousand to $5 million and $5 million to $20 million) in more than 1000 industries in Canada, including more than 30 performance benchmarks. Reports feature statistics for profitable and non-profitable businesses that includes net profits and net losses, and detailed financial data on revenues and expenses, industry averages for income statements and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios. Consult this research guide on how to create a report for a specific industry.
Financial Performance Indicators
Contains key financial ratios by industry groupings compiled from the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS 2007) from 1994 to 2011. Statistics Canada continues to provide information on Canadian businesses through alternative data sources. Information on specific financial ratios continues to be available through the annual Financial and Taxation Statistics for Enterprises program: Table 33-10-0006-01; the Quarterly Survey of Financial Statements: Tables 33-10-0007-01 and 33-10-0008-01.
Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios
Comprises of a set of business ratios, measured as relationships between companies' balance sheet and income statement categories, across industries as per Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes. Coverage from 2004 to 2011 and available online at CHASS.

Canada, U.S. and International:

IBISWorld
Provides Canadian, US, and Chinese industry reports. Enter industry keywords, NAICS code, or company name in the search box. Data on revenue, wage, cost structure, profits, etc. are included within the report.
Factiva
Captures industry averages and ratios. Click on the Companies/Markets tab on the top of the screen and then select Industry. Choose an industry.
Marketline: Advantage
Enter industry keyword in the search box > select "Industry Profiles" from the drop-down menu. On the results page, refine the results by sector, geography or date if necessary. Open the industry analysis report and click View Online, View as PDF or Export Full Report. Total market value and revenue data, and financials of major players in this industry are included within the report.
E-Statement Studies
Contains composite financial data, including ratios, on major types of industries mostly US-based. Arranged by NAICS code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same industry. Search for industries using either their name (or partial name) or by NAICS code.
Mergent (D&B) Key Business Ratios
Features 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business in the U.S. and Canada. Search data by SIC and NAICS code, line of business, asset range and year. Input financial data and instantly compare any balance sheet with industry benchmarks.
S&P NetAdvantage
Key stats and ratios are included in industry profiles. To access, click on the "Markets" tab at the top of the screen and select your industry under the Industries subheading.

Industry statistics

Canadian Industry Statistics
Presents and analyzes industry data on a number of economic and financial indicators using the latest annual data sources from Statistics Canada, including average revenue and average hourly wage. Enter a keyword or NAICS code into the search box.
CANSIM @ CHASS
Provides access to the data series from which many of the Statistics Canada publications are derived.
International Trade Administration
Provides trade statistics for the U.S. Of special note is the U.S. trade data section under "Trade Data & Analysis".
Statistics Canada Data
Contains thousands of tables and reports from all fields and provides fast access to a large range of the latest statistics available in Canada. Enter keywords into the search box. Filter by subject, geography or survey if applicable before running a search. To use a data table, click on the title and use "Add/Remove Data" tab to get customized data.

Industry/trade journals and newspapers

Trade journals and newspapers can be found in the following databases:

Industry associations

Associations Canada
This resource provides a listing of Canadian Associations. N.B. Be sure to uncheck all databases, with the exception of Associations Canada.

Canadian trade resources

Canada's Gateways
Includes information on Canada’s three main Gateways and Trade Corridors, as well as Foreign Trade Zones
Canadian International Merchandise Trade Database (1988-)
Detailed trade data using the Harmonized System (HS) classification of goods (based on the 6-digit commodity level)
Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
Contains international trade market reports
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Provides useful Canadian trade facts
Trade Data Online
Generates customized reports on Canada and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries