Business Technology Management: Country research

Basic country research
BBC News Country Profiles
Provides a quick guide to the economics, politics and history of countries and territories, including quick facts, profiles of political leaders, an overview of the media market and a chronology of key events.
Europa World Online
Covers political and economic information and selected data on countries and organizations worldwide. Select a country from the drop-down menu and hit "Go".
globalEDGE - Global Insights
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs. Under "Global Insights", select from one of the four options: "By Trade Bloc", "By country", "By State", or "By Industry".
Nexis Uni
Offers country analysis, political risk overview, and economic overview. From main page, click "Country Info" under Guided Search. Select a country from the drop down list and choose a source you want to search, then click "Search".
Mergent Online
Provides country statistical data. Select a country from the drop down menu under "Country Profile" (found on the right side, under the calendar).
U.S. Department of Commerce: International Statistical Agencies
Provides links to national statistical agencies arranged alphabetically by country.
World Bank: World Development Indicators
The World Bank's principal data source on the global economy, including demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources and environmental indicators for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. First select your country by searching or browsing the country list. Then expand the "Series" to select individual variables. Finally, click "Time" at the bottom to select the year(s) for which you want statistics. View data as a table, chart or map by selecting an output icon at the top right.
World Factbook
The U.S. Central Intelligence Agency provides country-specific information, including country profiles and select data. Click on the box indicating “Please select a country to view”.
Advanced country research

ProQuest One Business

Find country profiles, economic indicators, and business risk factors from country reports, produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), Oxford Economics, Fitch, and Mergent. Once in the database, click on "Country Reports" under Featured Reports on the left panel, then enter country name into the top field. You can refine results by selecting items under "Report containing", or selecting report providers.
Country Profiles
UK. Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Countries and Topics
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
International Monetary Fund: Country Information
Select a country from the alphabetical listing.
Marketline: Advantage
Includes country analysis - PESTLE. Type in country name then select "Country Profiles" from the drop-down menu beside the magnifying glass. Click the search button.
Passport
Includes demographic, economics and marketing statistics for 205 countries. Click on the "Economies" tab and select a topic or use the keyword search box at the top.

Country Risk Research:

Coface
Find Country Risk Assessments for 160 countries, along with information on payment methods, debt collection and insolvency trends. Select a country from the drop-down menu (middle of page) and click "OK."
Factiva
On the search page, click on the "Source" field, search for "Economist Intelligence Unit" (EIU), then select "EIU - Risk Briefing". Select country of interest under the "Regions" field. Once country and source are chosen, click "Search".
Global Financial Stability Report (GFSR)
Published semi-annually by the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
Nexis Uni
Offers country analysis, political risk overview, and economic overview. From main page, click "Country Info" under Guided Search. Select a country from the drop down list and choose a source you want to search, then click "Search".
Passport
Provides political stability and risks as well as business environment analyses within country reports. Enter PEST analysis +country name, e.g. PEST analysis Canada into the top search box. Country reports can be found under Analysis tab.
Political Risk Yearbook
Includes all 100 of Political Risk Services' Country Reports, including political and economic risk analysis.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
"The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for over 200 economies over the period 1996–2018, for six dimensions of governance: voice and accountability, political stability and absence of violence, government effectiveness, regulatory quality, rule of law, control of corruption." Click "Interactive data access", then click the "Country Data Review" tab. Under "Worldwide Governance Indicators" select indicator, year and country.
World Investment and Political Risk
"World Investment and Political Risk examines general trends in the global economy and FDI, corporate perceptions of political risk and risk-mitigation strategies, as well as the latest developments in the Political Risk Insurance industry."

Cultural Intelligence/Business Abroad:

Canada and International Trade
Canada. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
Country Insights
Centre for Intercultural Learning, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, is Canada's "largest provider of intercultural and international training services for internationally-assigned government and private sector personnel." Select a country from the drop-down menu to find information on topics ranging from conversation styles to cultural stereotypes.
Doing Business
The World Bank Doing Business project provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement in 190 economies that allow for comparisons across countries and over time.
Exporting
Canada Business Network. Government Services for Entrepreneurs
PKF: Doing Business in
PKF International Limited provides information about the financial, legal considerations that could affect business dealings within a particular country.
U.S. Commercial Service
Provided by U.S. Department of Commerce to help U.S. companies find new international business partners in worldwide markets.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. It consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries. Click “Data and documentation” and then click on “online analysis”. Click on a wave period and select a country to see the data.