Websites | Laurier Library

Biology

BiotechFind: Now known as LifeSciencesWorld provides a keyword-based search engine and international links in the fields of Life Sciences and biotechnology
Kimball's Biology Pages: Maintained by a retired biology professor, designed for undergraduate biology students and upper-division students in cell and molecular biology.
NatureServe: A searchable site leading to information about rare and endangered species, and threatened ecosystems throughout the United States and Canada.
Science's Next Wave: A weekly online not-for-profit publication that covers scientific training, career development, the science job market, and current news items and scientific debates. Next Wave is a joint publication of Science Magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Scirus: For Scientific Information Only: Scirus is a science-specific search engine which examines over 167 million science related Web pages.

Botany

Established by the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2008 to develop cyberinfrastructure for life sciences research and democratize access to U.S. supercomputing capabilities.

Botany.Com, the Encyclopedia of Plants: is intended as a site for gardeners and contains lists of common and botanical names with complete descriptions of each plant.
iPlant Collaborative
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI): is a free "database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants."
Internet Directory for Botany: provides an index to botanical information through direct links.
WWW Virtual Library: Plant Biology (Biosciences): This site provides an extensive list of links to plant biology resources throughout the web.

Cell & Molecular Biology

National Library of Medicine Subject Guide on Genetics and Genomics

Bio-Web: A directory of biology-related Web resources, with particular emphasis on DNA and protein-sequence analysis, and other molecular and cell biology tools.
Cell & Molecular Biology Online: serves as a general resource for the biological community by providing links to some of the best sites dealing with cell & molecular biology.
The Human Genome Program: The program has now been completed and this site provides links to the results.

Ecology

Earth Island Institute: founded in 1982 to support individuals conducting projects designed to conserve, preserve, and restore the global environment.
National Wetlands Research Center: - this site disseminates scientific information needed for understanding the ecology and values of wetlands throughout the USA and the world. Links are provided to sites dealing with the restoration of wetland habitats, associated plants and animals.
National Wildlife Federation: "is the USA's largest member-supported conservation group, uniting individuals, organizations, businesses and government to conserve and protect wildlife, natural resources, and the Earth's environment upon which we all depend, in order to achieve a peaceful, equitable and sustainable future."

Entomology

Butterfliesandmoths.org

The Radar Entomology

Antbase: This site deals with the use of radar to study insect movement, such as migrations and foraging patterns.

Evolution

Darwin Manuscripts

Natural History

National Museum of Natural History - Smithsonian Institute: This site contains a wealth of information about anthropology, botany, entomology, invertebrate and vertebrate zoology, mineral science and paleobiology. There is an extensive network of links to other related sites.

Ornithology

Bird On! Bird Dictionary: Complete text of Birdwatcher's Dictionary by Peter Weaver. Search the Dictionary.
Bird Monitoring in North America: [Patuxent -Bird Population Studies]. Detailed data and information about bird population studies from the United States and Canada.
Bird Names: A Translation Index: Search for names in nine languages including English, Latin, French, and German.
Cornell University Ornithology Collection: Links to collections of ornithology resources.
DUCKDATA: A Bibliographic Data Base for North American Waterfowl and Their Wetland Habitats. Includes over 150 periodical sources.
The Fat Birder: is designed to provide links for birding enthusiasts world wide.
Hinterland Who's Who - Bird Fact Sheets: The Canadian Wildlife Service and Canadian Wildlife Federation provide detailed information about some of the 462 species of birds found in Canada.
National Audubon Society: Includes national campaigns, bird conservation initiatives, news releases.
Ontario Field Ornithologists
Peterson online: provides useful information and illustrations for many birds as well as links to recommended web resources.
Raptor Center: Their mission is to preserve biological diversity among raptors and other avian species through medical treatment, scientific investigation, education and management of wild populations.
Shorebird Watcher: This site is useful in tracking elusive, long-distance migrants such as shorebirds which move through our area at any given time.

Taxonomy

Animal Diversity Web: Produced by the University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology. Provides detailed descriptions of virtually all animal species
Index to Organism Names: Maintained by the staff of the Zoological Record - includes Taxonomy & Nomenclature Resources.
The Tree of Life: project is designed to illustrate the diversity and unity of living organisms and to link this biological information on the Internet.
Wonderful World of Insects: Has a section on insect taxonomy listed under Classification. This section includes many useful links.