Film Studies: Criticism & reviews Expand All + Collapse All - Finding criticism Start with Film and Media Studies @ EBSCOhost Note you can limit your search to scholarly sources Also check Omni (library catalogue) for books about your film or director Finding reviews Find the release date of your film using IMDB or the American Film Institute Catalog choose a database, from the list below, that includes your date Main online resources for reviews Film and Media Studies @ EBSCOhost For reviews, limit search to Document Type: "Entertainment Review." Includes full-text reviews from Variety, back to 1920. Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 1880-2000 For reviews, limit search to Document Type: "Review." Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) 1988 to present Reviews Canadian and other films. Select Document Type: “Movie review.“ For reviews back to 1948, see "Movie reviews" in the print volumes of Canadian Periodical Index. American Film Institute Catalog 1893 to present Search for the film title, note the release date, and see the source citations at the end of the film record. New York Times 1851 to three years ago Search for reviews, profiles, advertisements, and movie listings. For reviews, limit search to month and year of release. Movie Review Query Engine Freely available database. Select “Critic reviews.“ Includes New York Times, Chicago Sun-Times (Ebert). Main print resources for reviews Film Review Index volumes 1-2. Volume one covers 1882 to 1949; volume two covers 1950 to 1985. Print location: Z 5784 M9F513 Selected Film Criticism. Includes full text from sources such as Photoplay and The Film Spectator. Print location: PN 1995 S426 Reviews vs Criticism Reviews vs. Criticism Criteria Film Reviews Film Criticism Audience general public scholars and students Authors journalists or general public articles may be unsigned affiliation not usually given academics and film scholars affiliation usually given Accountability may be reviewed by an editor usually peer reviewed or refereed Content gives the opinion of the writer usually short and focused on a single film often includes recommendations compares the film with others by the director, within the genre, etc. puts the film into a larger context: historical, social, political, theoretical Documentation may have no references to other sources, and no bibliographies or footnotes always contains references to other sources, given in a bibliography or footnotes Publications magazines, newspapers academic journals, books When published when film is released months or years after release Examples Crowther, Bosley. "Screen: Sordid View of French Life: Breathless' in Debut." New York Times 8 February 1961. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times. Web. 12 Sept. 2012. Hayes, Kevin. "The Newspaper and the Novel in À bout de souffle." Studies in French Cinema 1.3 (2001): 249-251. Film and Television Literature Index. Web. 12 Sept. 2012.