Searching for Chemical Information with Text Representation IUPAC International Chemical Identifier (InChI) Simplified Molecular-Input Line-Entry System (SMILES) Definition Translator Notation Tutorial Properties of Chemical Compounds Mol-Instincts Chemical Property Database. Search using chemical name, 2D-structure, or properties. NIST Chemical WebBook. WebElements Periodic Table. Index to Physical Chemical and Other Property Data. From University of Arizona. ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances. Most are printed books; a few are freely available Web-based databases. ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library or lab. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data. The actual data are not reproduced in ThermoDex. All such data are copyrighted by the original publishers. Spectra Open Spectral Database is exactly what the title suggests - a place where scientists can share spectral data and export it in a number of formats in order to do open science. Each spectrum gets a persistent identifier and contributors can get recognition for their contributions. The site is also an open source project that you can extend, enhance and share. Properties of Organic Compounds. Properties of Organic Compounds is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. With a high quality display and powerful search capabilities, it acts as an easy-to-use tool for identifying unknown compounds or for locating additional data and references for a known compound. nmrshiftdb2 is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users. The nmrshiftdb2 software is open source, the data is published under an open content license. Please consult the documentation for more detailed information. nmrshiftdb2 is the continuation of the NMRShiftDB project with additional data and bugfixes and changes in the software. Spectral Database for Organic Compounds. SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organiccompounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. ChemSpider NIST Chemical Webbook Research/Writing/Presentations ACS Style Guide. Effective communication of scientific information. ChemSketch. ACD/ChemSketch Freeware is a drawing package that allows you to draw chemical structures including organics, organometallics, polymers, and Markush structures. It also includes features such as calculation of molecular properties (e.g., molecular weight, density, molar refractivity etc.), 2D and 3D structure cleaning and viewing, functionality for naming structures (fewer than 50 atoms and 3 rings), and prediction of logP. Chemistry Dictionary. Add-in for Word or Open Office. Chem4Word. Add-in for Word. Publishing Your Research 101. Videos and slides from the Symposium on Ethics and Publishing (Division of Chemical Information, Spring 2011 National Meeting) are also available. Commercial Availability Sigma-Aldrich Product Catalog - includes some Spectral data Chemical Book ChemNet Lab Safety What Is RAMP? from the ACS Center for Lab Safety. Laboratory hazards and risk assessment can be managed using RAMP: Recognize hazards, Assess risks, Minimize risks, and Prepare for emergencies. The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards. The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards is intended as a source of general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals. The NIOSH Pocket Guide does not contain an analysis of all pertinent data, rather it presents key information and data in abbreviated or tabular form for chemicals or substance groupings (e.g. cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in the work environment. The information found in the NIOSH Pocket Guide should help users recognize and control occupational chemical hazards. Ethics Publishing Your Research 101. Videos and slides from the Symposium on Ethics and Publishing (Division of Chemical Information, Spring 2011 National Meeting) are also available. ACS Ethics and Professional Guidelines. Writing Lab Reports Drugs National Library of Medicine drug information portal via PubChem. Drug questions are among the most frequently asked medical questions in the medical, public, and academic libraries. Patients want to understand the drugs being prescribed to them. Other Nobel Prize Nomination Archive: The database is not yet complete. Currently, data until 1963 is included for nominations to all Nobel Prizes except the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, that only contains data until 1953. Note also that names of the nominees and other information about the nominations cannot be revealed until 50 years later.