- Electronic books from various publishers and coverage various subjects.
- Authorized users:
- Mobile support:
- Supported devices:
- Apple iOS (ebook reader)
- Android (ebook reader)
- No mobile version for site
- Resource type:
- Database interface:
- Usage rights:
Published by Canadian university presses:
Published by the American University in Cairo:
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA):
Published by Duke University Press:
Published by Emerald Group Publishing:
This resource provides access to the full text of tens of thousands of electronic books (ebooks), and allows you to search from among tens of thousands more, from a wide variety of publishers. Scholars Portal Books is actually a platform that OCUL members use to host ebooks that we have purchased and have acquired the rights to host on our own servers, just like Scholars Portal Journals is for electronic journal content.
Some titles are available only to one person at a time, but most are available without such limitations. (Only selected titles published by Canadian university presses and those published by Taylor and Francis.) Some titles are also available to download to your computer or mobile device. See the specific book's page to see whether it is available to view or download.
The search function allows you to do general keyword searching as well as subject, title, author, publisher, ISBN, publication year, language, and LC call number searching. You can also limit to specific collections (public content, those you have access to the full text only, or by specific publisher).
You can also personally sign in to the Scholars Portal Books platform (using Google, facebook, or other common social media accounts) which allows you to add your favourite titles to your "library" folders.
Laurier Library provides access to over a hundred thousand titles from various publishers through this resource, including Springer, Oxford University Press, Emerald Group Publishing, Cambridge University Press, Canadian University Presses (rights), Canadian presses, and government and non-governmental organizations. "Statistics Canada’s Historical Collection" was added in late 2020.
- Subjects covered:
- Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Computer Science
- Health Sciences
- Subject guides:
- Alternate titles:
- E-Books @ Scholars Portal
- eBooks @ Scholars Portal
Restriction: Some titles in this resource have limitations on access, such as one user at a time. These limitations are clearly described on each book's information page.