Sociological Abstracts

Connect to resource
Summary:
Comprehensive, international coverage of journal articles, books, papers, etc. in sociology and related disciplines.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Coverage:
1952 to present
Accessibility statement:
Database interface:
Usage rights:
Description:

This product is a key resource for research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of more than 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records from 1963 and on contain abstracts of journal articles. Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, neglect, aging, health, energy, environment, housing, education, women and development, disaster preparedness and risk assessment. Cited references are included as of 2004.

Being on the ProQuest platform it has the basic browse and search functionalities that other products on the platform do, such as a basic search, and advanced search able to search a variety of fields connected with Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT). Results can be limited to peer reviewed journals, publication dates, types, and languages.

Laurier Library provides access to this through the ProQuest Sociology Collection.

Subjects covered:
  • Anthropology
  • Criminology
  • Education
  • Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Social and Environmental Justice
  • Sociology
  • Youth and Children's Studies
Subject guides:
Alternate titles:
  • Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts
  • SOPODA