PsycBOOKS

Connect to resource
Summary:
Full-text books and book chapters from the American Psychological Association.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Coverage:
1806 to present
Accessibility statement:
Database interface:
Usage rights:
Description:

PsycBOOKS is a full-text database of books and chapters available from the American Psychological Association. Each month, books published by APA and classic books from other publishers are added to the database. For 2006, the database offering includes about 850 titles, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002, approximately 120 archival resources in psychology, and the exclusive electronic release of the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology with over 1,500 authored entries.

The database can be searched in several ways, including by specifying keywords that may occur in the article title, abstract, or the full-text, or by author names and book titles. Each retrieved record has a link to the corresponding full-text chapter, which is usually available in PDF format (so Adobe Acrobat reader is needed for viewing). Each record also has a link to the Table of Contents (TOC) for the book in which the chapter is published.

The database can also be searched for content of interest by browsing directly through the book titles and then clicking to the tables of contents for the respective chapters. In addition, an alerting function is available that sends an email notifying the user that a new book has been added to the database.

  • Major areas of coverage include:
    • Applied psychology
    • Communication systems
    • Developmental psychology
    • Educational psychology
    • Experimental human and animal psychology
    • Personality
    • Psychological and physical disorders
    • Physiological psychology and neuroscience
    • Professional personnel and issues
    • Psychometrics and statistics
    • Social psychology
    • Social processes and issues
    • Sports psychology and leisure
    • Treatment and prevention
Subjects covered:
  • Communication Studies
  • Education
  • Health Sciences
  • Health Studies
  • Kinesiology and Physical Education
  • Psychology
Subject guides: