Indigenous Peoples: North America

Connect to resource
Collection of primary source documents on the indigenous peoples of North America.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
Resource type:
Database interface:

This resource provides a variety of primary source materials on the indigenous peoples of the United States and Canada, such as manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. It was created to meet the needs of students, faculty, and researchers. Here are some of the collections included in this resource:

  • The Alaska Indian Language Collection (Gonzaga University)
  • The Association on American Indian Archives (AAIA and Princeton University)
  • Citizenship Case Files of the U.S. Court in Indian Territory, 1896‐1897 (U.S. National Archives)
  • Great Nemaha Agency Collection, 1866‐1873 (Wichita State University)
  • The Indian School Journal (Chilocco Indian School)
  • The Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
  • Letters Sent by the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1849‐1903 (U.S. National Archives)
  • Moravian Mission among the Indians of North America (Moravian Archives)
  • The Pacific Northwest Tribes Missions Collection of the Oregon Province Archives of the Society of Jesus, 1853‐1960 (Gonzaga University)

The basic keyword search results can be filtered by content type, additional keywords, subjects and publication years. The advanced search includes all these plus multi-term boolean searching in fields such as titles, creators and subjects, plus additional limits like the inclusion of illustrations, document types, languages, and collections it was pulled from.

Laurier Library purchased this product at the end of 2014.

Subjects covered:
  • Anthropology
  • Canadian Studies
  • Cultural Analysis and Social Theory
  • Cultural Studies
  • History
  • Human Rights and Human Diversity
  • Indigenous Studies
  • Interdisciplinary
  • North American Studies
  • Religion and Culture
  • Social and Environmental Justice
  • Sociology
Alternate titles:
  • North American Indigenous Peoples
  • IPNA
  • IP North America