Digital National Security Archive

Connect to resource
Summary:
Full-text U.S. policy documents.
Authorized users:
Mobile support:
No
Resource type:
Access:
Coverage:
1945 to present
Accessibility statement:
Database interface:
Description:

This resource contains full-text, declassified documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy in multiple subject-based collections. Provided by the National Security Archive, a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., it was hosted on the Chadwyck-Healey platform until 30 September 2015, then transferred to the primary ProQuest platform.

Being on the ProQuest platform, these can be searched and browsed using all the same functions. Search can also be limited to a specific collection: Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, etc.

Laurier Library provides access to 29 of these archives on the ProQuest platform.

  1. Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
  2. China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
  3. CIA Family Jewels Indexed
  4. Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
  5. El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
  6. El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
  7. Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
  8. Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
  9. Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
  10. Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
  11. Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
  12. Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
  13. Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
  14. South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
  15. Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
  16. The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
  17. The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
  18. The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
  19. The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
  20. The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
  21. The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
  22. The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
  23. The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
  24. U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
  25. U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
  26. U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
  27. U.S. Nuclear Non-Proliferation Policy, 1945–1991
  28. U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
  29. U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
Subjects covered:
  • Global Studies
  • History
  • Political Science
Subject guides:
Alternate titles:
DNSA